Meet the Staff: Aaron Henne

by Kelsey Carthew

Over the course of my summer here, I have been getting to know the amazing staff here at Boston Court, and I figured that you lovely readers should get a chance to read some tidbits the staff shared with me. I have asked them all a few questions about themselves and their time here at Boston Court, and their responses will be posted by person.

For this entry, Aaron Henne shares his views on the future of theatre!

Aaron Henne; Co-Literary Manager, Theatre @ Boston Court
1. What has been your favorite show to work on or see here at Boston Court? Why?
AH: Well, like any good parent might say – I love them all equally well. As a Co-Literary Manager, I always especially love Play/ground, our new play reading series. For me, it’s a really exciting opportunity to hear works and the beauty of the language. While I do believe that plays fully live in space, it can be a joy to have the chance to experience at least a portion of their power, with such simple means. I also really like the community that gets built around that event, with playwrights attending and theatre professionals from all over the city joining in.
2. Where do you see the future of theatre going?
AH: The “Future of theatre” is hard to address because theatre exists in so many different forms and has different interests and techniques depending on where in the world (not to mention, in the city) one finds oneself. That being said, I do think that while an argument could be made that we are moving even further into a theatrical landscape that is multimedia and incorporates online elements and digital narratives, I also believe that we are returning to a theatre of the imagination, where voices and bodies in space alone create the experience, without the needed aid of “realistic” sets or tangible representations of every element to which a piece alludes. What can theatre do that other forms may not accomplish as successively? I believe that it can engage the mind of the viewer in the act of creation. It can ask the audience to participate in crafting an experience by providing the opportunity to suspend disbelief, rather than creating a simulacrum of “reality.”
3. Tell me a funny story about something that happened here at Boston Court.
AH: I have to say that every week the staff meeting provides plenty of comedy. Take that as you will!
Leave a Reply

