Meet the Staff: Emilie Beck

by Kelsey Carthew

Over the course of my summer here, I have been getting to know the amazing staff here at Boston Court, and I figured that you lovely readers should get a chance to read some tidbits the staff shared with me. I have asked them all a few questions about themselves and their time here at Boston Court, and their responses will be posted by person.

Now we have Emilie Beck!

Emilie Beck; Co-Literary Manager, Theatre @ Boston Court

1. What has been your favorite show to work on or see here at Boston Court? Why?

EB: I haven’t quite been here long enough to have a lot to choose from, but I can say that the experience of dramaturging The Children was pretty wonderful and fulfilling. It’s a complex script, with a story wrapped in a story wrapped in a story, and the way it unfolds is tricky in terms of how to represent it on stage in a way that allowed us to reveal bits without revealing the whole thing too early. Michael Elyanow was a pretty dreamy playwright to collaborate with. We had lots of questions, and he took them all seriously, either helping us to understand his meaning, or to go back and refine a scene or a relationship so that the meaning became clearer. And it was lovely to be in Jessica’s rehearsal room as well, seeing how she approached this layered, emotional, and incredibly smart story Michael had written. It was one of those experiences you long for, one in which you have as much to give as you have to learn.

2. Why theatre?

EB: Sometimes I wish I knew. I grew up in it. My father is an actor and my mother was a performance artist, so I was surrounded by the makers of performance from a very early age. And I grew up in Chicago during a time that the city was transforming itself into the artistic center that it is today. It was exciting and raw and inclusive, with room for all kinds of approaches. I was pretty much in it from the start, and never even contemplated doing anything else. I love the collaboration; I love story telling; I love the communication that exists — when it does — on visceral and cerebral levels at the same time.

3. Tell me a funny story about something that happened here at Boston Court.

EB: One of my kids, Zane, seven years old, is an aspiring actor. He had come to a couple of rehearsals of The Children, and then saw a performance. He’s a great mimic, so after the show he performed Danny Blinkoff’s role of the sheriff for Danny Blinkoff, complete with Maine accent and Danny’s gestures. I guess he added a little extra clap of his hands, which Danny liked so much that he ended up adding it to his performance. It’s not as funny in the telling, but it was pretty cute at the time.

Leave a Reply

