The Intern Saga Episode 8: So Long, Farewell… (aka: My Generation)

Aufweiderschen, Goodbye.

Today is my final day in the role of the Intern here at Boston Court. Sad face, sad life. But also a happy day, for I brought cupcakes to the Court (and we all know that when cupcakes are at Boston Court, it’s automatically a good day). While I am eager to get back to school and continue my training, I will deeply miss the Boston Court staff and community. I’m glad that I discovered Boston Court this summer because it really is a gem of a theatre. I will not, however, miss being called an assortment of names that were not “Kelsey” throughout my time here… namely Chelsea, Kiki, Keeks, Keekster, KelKel, Casey, Intern, and Izzy to name a few.

So for my final blog entry, I’ve decided to leave you with some parting words about my generation, for another Intern from my generation will soon replace me come June 2013. And so on and so forth.

When I was first figuring out the blog system here at Boston Court, I came across Brian’s article about free tickets for high school students. I read it and a tidbit that stuck with me was the misconceptions that he had about teenagers, which is nothing new or appalling. Everywhere I’ve been, I’ve heard whispers, seen judging looks, and I’ve even judged many a teen when they squeal excitedly about a cute celebrity. In fact, I’d say that these are the top 5 complaints that I’ve read or heard about teenagers (irregardless of, but not excluding, their artistic inclination):

  1.  They’re ungrateful.
  2.  They don’t listen. At all.
  3.  They have a sense of entitlement.
  4.  They’re all the same. Just one big lump of “teenagers”.
  5.  They don’t care about anything.

I guarantee that every adult looks at that list, for a split second thinks “Pshhh those are so true”, and then either sticks with that or quickly changes mindsets to “I don’t think teenagers are like that…”

It’s ok. We’re annoying. We get it. I think we’re annoying. I even think that some of those points are completely valid. We’re unpredictable and that freaks out adults.

But we’re not ungrateful; how we live (however comfortable) is our status quo, and that’s something we’ve been used to for years, sometimes since birth. Many of us don’t completely understand how much those who raise us have sacrificed to do so. And so we’re called ungrateful. We do listen, but we want to figure things out for ourselves. While annoying to parents, we usually disregard what they say because, more often than not, learning first hand for ourselves sticks with us better than parents just telling us. What you may believe to be a sense of entitlement is us dreaming big… if we didn’t have that confidence to be able to stake a claim, what would we accomplish in life? Yes we need to work to accomplish that big dream, but we’ve set the bar high because we’ve been brought up by means of the American Dream that we can accomplish big things. We’re not all the same, we’re just not. Because I am a teenage girl does not mean that I’m obsessed with shopping, Twilight, am concerned with nothing but boys, party, or any and all of the above. It’s like saying all adults are cranky and old. They’re…not.

Finally, we do care. Adults may find that hard to believe, but we care so much. We care about our world, we care about our future, we care about what impact we’re going to leave on Earth when we’re long gone. While adults think we stare at computer screens all day long, we’re discovering the world and figuring out what we want to change about it. What’s gone rotten that we can fix? What role do I want to take in the world? Activist? Mentor? Healer?

For me, and thousands of other teenagers like me, we want to be artists. We have amazing ideas on how to progress the arts, we have brilliant stories to tell, we have new things about the world we want to honor. And we care so much about getting to share that with you who are already living that dream.

So give us a chance, adults. For very soon, if not already, we will be one of you. Listen to us like someone listened to you when you were one of us. When we do meet adults that want to listen to our ideas, it makes us want to do that to future generations. I know we’re annoying. I know we’re unpredictable. I know we may drive you absolutely insane and out of your mind. But we’re figuring out the world. It’s not an excuse for being annoying, it’s just what we’re doing.

And with that, I say goodbye to the Boston Court community, or as I like to say…

Hasta la bye bye

Kelsey; Intern

One response to “The Intern Saga Episode 8: So Long, Farewell… (aka: My Generation)

  1. Pingback: Vlogging for Farce » Cindy Marie Jenkins

Leave a Reply

