Perspectives of an Intern: Pedantry and Wonder

Every morning I get up and make tea, get the newspaper, lock the house and drive to work.

This is staggering to me.  I have an out-of-body experience every day as I watch my morning routine, and floating outside of myself, I see that this person who looks uncannily like me is acting like a grown-up.

You see, I’ve never had a full-time job before.  Granted, this is only going on for ten weeks this summer, rather than the forty or so years’ worth of full-time jobs that looms in my future.  But coupled with the fact that my parents are out of town this week, this responsibility makes me feel impossibly adult.

And then I get to work.

It’s not that the people here aren’t grown-up– after all, no kid would get their sense of humor (I hope).  It’s that they aren’t tied to so many of the things I’ve always associated with adulthood: routines, psychologically damaging levels of stress, and utter dread of going to work.  They have fun.  They are wrinkle-free.  They make a really strong case for doing what you love.

Lately in my college career, I’ve begun to wonder why learning doesn’t feel as fun anymore.  History classes now focus on Marxism vs. Industrialism where before they seemed to revolve around the mystery of the past, and what it was really like to live in another time and place.  Similarly, I’ve worried that working on the business side of theatre would be like reading about grain output in Medieval England (the topic of my next blog post; get excited!), i.e., it would spoil my excitement.  But I’ve been here for two weeks now and the fear is fading.  There is no routine here, no average day.  If you need to take some time to digest a big hedonistic lunch, you can go right ahead.  You can have conversations with your co-workers about plays, life, manic ex-co-workers…and of course all the work gets done, too.  Quite well, as exhibited by this being Boston Court’s seventh well-loved season.

So it may seem a bit premature—I have, after all, only been here for a grand total of nine days—but I’m going to go ahead and say that interning here this summer was a much better idea than studying for the LSAT.  If, like me, you haven’t started down a set career path yet, I’d recommend witnessing firsthand happy adults at work.  It’s strange, definitely, but comforting.  If it’s too late for you and your life is the dreary predictable wreck that I used to imagine mine would surely become, never fear!  For the price of one ticket you can come here, see an amusing and thought-provoking play, and for an hour or two get back the magic and imagination that you thought you lost as a child.

Speaking of which, The Good Book of Pedantry and Wonder happens to be the perfect play for that.  All about living and loving learning, it can snap you out of your bleak routine and make you think, all for $32!  Order your tickets now, you’ll feel happier immediately!

Leave a Reply

