Perspectives of an Intern: The Final Week!

The week we knew would come at last, has come at last.  It’s week ten, aka the final week, of my LACAC internship.  To avoid the oversentimentality that I am often keen to indulge in, I will here assemble a quick and tidy list of the main take-aways from this summer.

1.  Marketing is hard.  Ad space is insanely expensive, it’s tough to monitor what works and what doesn’t, and there are hardly any new ideas for marketing left in the world.  If there are any, though, watch out because Boston Court will find them!

2.  Never give birth. A combination of anecdotal evidence and several graphic books which currently stand in separate pages on our stage have led me to this crucial conclusion.

3.  The difference between a job you hate and a job you love comes down to the people.  I’ve been really lucky to get to know the people here, and I think they would’ve made it a pretty awesometastic experience even if we’d been working in mines or sorting garbage.  But…

4.  There’s no reason not to do something you really enjoy.  The one and only time I ever saw a psychic (it was free! It wasn’t my idea!), I asked whether I should do what I want to do with my life or give it up and get rich quick.  She stared at my palm for half a second before telling me “You won’t be successful unless you do something you love.”  I felt like an idiot because I’d never considered that before.  It’s true, though: I haven’t thought of most of what I do here as work because I like it, and my quality of life has thus been pretty excellent.

5.  Never tell anyone if you don’t like nicknames.  I have been, on various occasions: Tay, Tay-Tay, TLC, T-Dog, T-Bone, T-Love, T-Money, T-Minus, and many more I’m forgetting and hopefully will not remember.

6.  Whenever you need a break, just invent a holiday. It needs to have food, and cupcakes are a great place to start.  But if you can make a whole meal out of it, that’s even better, and decorations are always a great way to up your game.

7.  My eyes look kind of gross in close-up. See above picture.

8.  Don’t worry about how or why, everything will turn out right.  Even if it doesn’t seem possible—just look at our set for confirmation of that one.

9.  Work isn’t just the time you spend staring at your computer, getting tangible things done.  It also comes in the form of discussions about the office, the plays, what goes into making these plays happen, morale-boosting activities like long and hilarious staff meetings, tweeting with your bosses, keeping goldfish alive, stuffing endives, and digesting lunch while thinking good thoughts about the work you fully intend to do late.  These are the most memorable things—I can’t tell you all of the tasks I undertook my first week here, but I can tell you the flavor of cupcake I ate at my first staff meeting.  Whether that makes me sentimental or just a glutton, I know for sure that the specific responsibilities I had this summer won’t stick with me as long as the memory of everyone who works here and what a great time I had working in the arts.  I’ve been known to turn up here on weekends and evenings, and come winter break I’ll definitely be here with Christmas cookies.  And maybe a guest blog post or two is in the works?

10.  If you blog it, they will come. And it’ll make you feel really good to know someone’s reading it!  So thanks all of you blog-readers, it’s been a pleasure spilling out the contents of my brain to you on a weekly basis.  I highly recommend coming in to see a show and sticking around afterward to talk to anyone wearing a nametag that says Boston Court.  They’re bound to be smart, creative, a bit off the beaten path, and highly entertaining.  I had a great summer working with them and I think you’ll like them too!

Leave a Reply

