The Introspective Intern: Flexibility (and Fire in the Parking Lot)

By Emily Tugwell

When I first meet a new person, I become hyper-aware (Is that even a word?) of my surroundings. The people standing next to me, the way I look, the color of the ceiling. Everything. It all seems extremely important in that moment when I extend my hand towards a stranger and introduce myself.

This “hyper-awareness” struck me when I first came to visit Boston Court a week before my internship started and forced its way back into my system when I started a week later and had to meet even more people. But now, that feeling has faded and I’m comfortably settling into this calm, yet somewhat rambunctious (just wait till you get to the last paragraph) office environment.

It really is laid-back around the office, and I honestly couldn’t be happier about that. Part of the reason why I felt so nervous about working here was that I was afraid I wouldn’t be considered “professional” enough. This is my first full-time job, and I’m a marketing intern. That means stiff-collared white blouses and pantsuits right? Well it may mean that somewhere, but definitely not here. We keep it professional, but that doesn’t mean we can’t wear jeans and flip-flops.

And thank god for that.

The way I see it, there are no strict social rules here. There is no serious pecking order. Everyone in this building is a member of the team, and each person relies on another at some point to help finish a task. This in turn has created a working family, and I already feel like I’m becoming a part of it. Yes, we all have something to finish, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t time for some banter. And if it’s someone’s birthday, why not have cupcakes and pizza at the ready? (Best first day ever.) Things really are best kept flexible.

In the short three days that I have been working here, this concept has proved to have more weight than just in regards to the cheerful office staff. It encompasses all that The Theatre @ Boston Court is and all that it has to offer. It’s flexible in the sense that there is no set way of producing the works that are chosen for the stage. And it’s the same when it comes to marketing plays here. Each play is usually completely different from the next and we have to bend, rework and test out various techniques  in order to create a larger audience base. When it comes to marketing, I’ve come to realize that I’ll need to be as bold as one of our plays. And I’m up for that challenge.

Finally, speaking of flexibility (and even more so, spontaneity) a certain someone – whom I shall not name lest he get in some kind of trouble – just set a mangled barbie doll on fire in the parking lot with a giant projector lens. Come on now, don’t give me that look, you know everyone loves to watch plastic smoke and burn. Her disfigured and blackened figure now sits on my desk as a constant reminder of what I’ll look like by the end of these ten TORTUOUS weeks. Just kidding. I’m about to leave her on my Manager’s desk before I go to my first staff meeting…which is starting right now. The fun has just begun.

One response to “The Introspective Intern: Flexibility (and Fire in the Parking Lot)

  1. Great first blog post! I’ll be reading from Northern Ireland and wishing I were there to witness the shenanigans!

    Like

Leave a Reply

