The Introspective Intern: A Barrage of Questions

By Emily Tugwell

Who am I? Who are you? Far more importantly, what is the meaning of life?

It’s a basic fact that life is inevitably full of questions. We spend a great deal of time questioning ourselves and one another in the hope that we will each come away with a greater understanding of what it means to be alive and be human (Too introspective?). Everyone is constantly considering a handful of questions: feeling the weight of each one, dissecting and rearranging a few, dropping one in order to grasp at another. It all comes down to the fact that we all try damn hard to come up with a good answer for each of them.

However, the questions we sometimes ask ourselves can be quite general and vague, while being convoluted at the same time. I’m thinking of those that we revert to asking ourselves at multiple points throughout our lifetimes whilst trying to figure out our own personal identities and face the various realities that comprise human existence. You know, those of the midlife crisis variety.

But questions can also be very precise. I think of each question as a varying degree on one of two distinct categories: the short-term and the long-term. The daily and the lifelong. Some questions have an immediate answer, while others take longer to find. And of course, there are a few that can never definitively be answered (If a tree falls in the woods, does it make a sound?). I know, at this point, I’m sure you’re all thinking: “Oh you poor, little confused eighteen your old” but just stay with me here. This rambling will (hopefully) lead somewhere.

I’ve been working at Boston Court for a little over a week now, and I’ve come to realize how important the act of questioning really is here. Consider it for a moment: if no one ever asked any questions, would meaningful work ever get created? The way I see it, ideas are the seeds of action (I apologize for the bad metaphor). When someone has an idea, they vocalize it and ask others for feedback. This is the cycle of constant creation. My job entails asking (and being asked) many different questions, ranging from the more abstract, open-ended questions to those that are very specific. A significant amount of my time here is spent sitting down with Brian (the Marketing and Communications Manager, and more importantly, my boss) in his office and throwing questions back and forth at one another. Whether we’re concerned with the specific wording of the description for the upcoming play, or thinking about future blog posts and interview ideas, we bounce these ideas off each another in order to come up with the most creative possibilities. And therein lies the point that it took me so long to reach. The act of questioning is an extremely important part of the creative cycle. In fact, I consider it to be the beginning of the creative cycle. And this doesn’t just apply to marketing theatre, it applies to everything regarding art and the arts.

So, I leave you with that thought. I’m finally going to stop asking rhetorical questions now. If you have anything to add, you disagree with me, or if you just want to ask me a question, go ahead. Now I’m off to my first read-through of Heavier than… Look out for a blog post about it soon!

Leave a Reply

