The Introspective Intern: Life Sucks, and Then You Die

By Emily Tugwell

Just kidding. It’s really not all that bad.

But I do often find myself thinking in terms of life, the “big picture” and all that, though I’m not thinking nearly as negatively as my title lets on.

 

To quote one of Douglas Adams’ books in The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy series (one of my favorites), I constantly think about “life, the universe, and everything.” This isn’t to say that I’m more philosophical or thoughtful than the next person, but to state a very-obvious-doesn’t-need-to-be-said-but-I’m-going-to-say-it-anyway kind of fact. (I bet you never would have ever imagined me typing something along those lines if you read my last blog post.)

Being my age though, doesn’t this preoccupation with thinking about life make sense? I’m going into my second year of college, and I’m not really sure what I want to so with myself, with my life. Until recently, I had been without serious responsibility for the majority of my life and had quite a lot of time to just sit around and think. But now, after living independently in New York for my freshman year, going to college and working part time, I’m starting to get a feel for this thing called responsibility.

Especially now when it comes to working at Boston Court. Working here full time for the past three weeks has forced me to figure out how to be on task and stay on task, as well as first figure out what said tasks actually are. Now I have to think more about all those small pieces, parts, factors, and “things” (for lack of a better word) that together create the “big picture.” Things like creating and writing lots of blog posts, editing various documents, emailing actors and production staff, calling marketing companies, tweeting (which I come to love more and more every day – Thank you, Brian), photoshopping photos, using Facebook to share blog posts, and all the other things I’m forgetting to include at the present moment, are all tiny little chunks of that “big picture.” The things that I accomplish over the course of the day don’t dissolve to nothing, but instead add to what we as Boston Court are now, and what we want to be. I write blog posts in the hope that someone will read them and be a little more curious about our play Heavier than… or about Boston Court (these are really included though – think of them as badly-written, angst-ridden teenage rants).  It’s just another part of marketing here: you have to put your presence out there for everyone to see. You have to give people a chance to get to know you.

It’s this ridiculously large conglomeration of small things (what I listed is, of course, only a minute tidbit) that create a business. It’s really mind boggling to me that people are able to keep track of it all, but then again, I guess that’s why you don’t usually see just one person running a business. So, I know this post has probably been the literary equivalent of a small child banging two pots together on the floor, but basically, what I’m trying to say is that I feel that I’m really starting to learn from this internship, but also that I’m still figuring things out. I know, that’s a pretty vague statement, but by the end of these ten weeks, I promise it’ll become a lot clearer.

Leave a Reply

