The Introspective Intern: My Last Day Has Come, Literally

By Emily Tugwell

I just can’t hide from it any longer and prolonging the writing of my last blog post really isn’t an option at this point. Yes everyone, this is the last week of my LACAC internship. In a few hours, I will walk out of this theater as an intern for the last time. Honestly, I’m not even sure where to start with this post as there are so many different directions that I could go in, but I’ll try to organize my thoughts for you one last time. I’ll divide this into sections so as to not ramble on for a few thousand words. So to start off…

On Marketing

Working at Boston Court has made me realize that the word marketing really is a quintessential “umbrella” term. So many different strategies can fall under marketing, and you may not even realize that something is in fact a marketing strategy. But this more so applies to the world of “big business” and corporate marketing. The constant barrage of TV and internet ads that such companies create have only a few goals: look at me, remember me, buy me. Needless to say, this just isn’t the case for nonprofits (and small businesses too). We’re not constantly trying to get recognition from the largest amount of people possible; we’re building relationships with the local communities and the people that live in them. The audience isn’t just passing through town. There here to stay (hopefully) and they’re our guests. And such is the case at Boston Court and all other small theaters in LA (and surely the country). We want our local communities to know that we not only exist, obviously, but belong to them. Marketing for non-profit theaters and other organizations is really just the recognizable term that seems to be used in place of “relationship-building.” By this point in my internship, I’ve come to realize that I really enjoy being involved with this type of marketing and when again involved with a nonprofit, I hope to use this “relationship building” model.

On Nonprofits

I think my opinion of nonprofit organizations is pretty clear by now, or at least I would hope so. Nonprofits do so much for our society, whether they feed and house the homeless, strive for a healthier, greener Earth, or bring us into contact with the arts! I guess I’m so enthralled by the work that local, national, and global nonprofits accomplish because it shows me what humans are truly capable of creating. I know that statement is extremely vague, but I’m just thinking about this on such a grand scale that it’s hard to grasp at tangible specifics and all that. Basically, what I’m trying to say is that nonprofits are created when someone (or a group of people) has a passion something, or when something horrifying or tragic affects a person emotionally to their core, or any other number of reasons. But these people all see something that needs to be done in the world and they seek to make it happen. I admire that so much and I want to be a part of the movement. Seeing people help others and watching individuals create amazing works of art makes me want to do the same. I strive to help and to create.

On Theatre

Interning at Boston Court has really forced me to consider and question my relationship to theatre. I think about it quite a bit because I’ve realized that it must seem odd to some people as to why I am actually here. No, I’m not majoring in theatre. Umm, I’m not sure if I want to pursue a career related to theater. However, I do love the arts, and seem to have a personal connection to each art form in some way. My mother is an artist, one of my best friends has been a dancer for over seven years, and the list goes on in some shape or another…. Where was I? Ah yes, but what about theatre? Well, there’s the obvious: I did go to a performing arts magnet in both middle and high school…but I always seemed to fall into the technical side of things. By the end of high school I was known as “the sound girl” and though I was fine with that, I regret never performing on stage. For me, theatre is the art form that calls to me most directly. In theatre, there doesn’t seem to be a middle man. During a play, all else seems to fade away as I focus on the actors and the stage and directly interact with them. And every moment in a play is new and fleeting. It’s the art form that continues to make me feel so emotional, so close to other people, and, dare I sound ridiculously cliché here, SO HUMAN. That’s why I’m at Boston Court. That’s why I love theatre.

On Working

These last ten weeks have been quite the reality check for me. I now have a pretty damn good idea of what it means to work “full-time.” And by that I’m saying that it can be really challenging at times, while being very rewarding at others. I’ve also come to realize that working doesn’t just involve sitting behind a desk for eight hours, writing emails and getting whatever work you have finished. It comes in a variety of other forms. There are made-up holidays to celebrate (North America Day Forever), haikus to write, hilarious sometimes-completely-off-topic staff meetings to attend, Barbies to melt, thinking of snarky replies to your boss’ tweets, paper rocks to create, spuderitos (look it up) and so many mouth-watering cupcakes to eat, a play to discuss and watch and build and admire. Mentioning all that has also made me realize that none of it would be the same if I didn’t work with the same wonderful people that I do. The people that work in this theatre are what makes interning here fun and memorable. If any staff members at Boston Court are reading this, thank you for making my time here a great experience. I’m going to miss all of you.

And that’s it. This is the end of my summer internship blog. It was a great experience, and one I plan to continue by creating my own personal blog and continuing to write. And to all of my readers, THANK YOU SO MUCH! I’m happy to know that someone out there is interested in what I have to say. Now for the last time…. I’m done!

Leave a Reply

